Sir Richard Bishop
Salvador Kali

Released: 1998
Contents: 1xCD
Revenant No. 102

Mystery-cloaked ethno-improv garage-folk maestros the Sun City Girls have been conjuring up their peculiar magic for going on two decades. Co-founder Rick Bishop steps out from behind the veil in Django-ized high style with 9 mostly improvised solo paeans to the glories of knighthood. Pieces for guitar, piano and other stringed instruments. Lyrical, triumphant and, yes, just as song-smithy as SCG classic Torch of the Mystics.

“Triumphant” - Magnet

“Bishop is a splendid acoustic guitarist with a sure touch and an impressive vocabulary gleaned from the Spanish flamenco and North Indian classical traditions with a bit of Belgian Django Reinhardt’s gypsy swing jazz mixed in. For variety he tosses in a Moorish piano fantasia that conjures images of kif-addled cowboys doing sabre dances. Some of Bishop’s compositions isolate one influence, others melt them together, but all of them possess a singular grace that deserves to be heard far beyond the confines of underground rock.” – Inkblot Magazine

Track Listing
Disc 1
  1. Burning Caravan, 2′ 46″ (listen)
  2. Rasheed, 9′ 52″
  3. Cadaques, 2′ 03″
  4. Pedro’s Last Ride, 2′ 36″
  5. Al-Darazi, 14′ 08″
  6. Hadley, 1′ 27″ (listen)
  7. Rose Room, 1′ 51″
  8. Kamakhya, 10′ 10″
  9. Morella, 4′ 51″