The No-Neck Blues Band
Sticks and Stones May Break My Bones But Names Will Never Hurt Me

Released: 2001
Contents: 1xCD
Revenant No. 103

Our late founder John Fahey’s favorite “new” band, the No-Necks have actually been enjoying underground hero status in upper/lower Manhattan for nearly a ghost-decade. Seven fairly wooly guys and gals create off-the-cuff shaman musics, often stumbling into a groove as irresistible as the swamp-choogle of vintage Creedence. Blues for fans of Beefheart, early Royal Trux, Dock Boggs and Heliocentric Worlds-era Sun Ra, Sticks and Stones presents the fractal sound-image of No Neck as captured in snapshot form by producer Jerry Yester (Tom Waits, Tim Buckley, Lovin Spoonful) at his studio in the Ozarks.

Each wood and plexiglass CD package was handcrafted by No Neck for this limited edition first pressing.

“They have that same Magic Band aura — a bizarre collective joyously creating a new language. It’s not jazz and it’s not mere freeform noise. It’s a whole new blueprint for an organic throb created by seven minds thinking as one.” – David Keenan, The Wire

“The greatest band ever in the history of the universe.” – Sonic Youth

#10 in 50 Records of the Year – The Wire magazine, January 2002

“From the operatives who brought you the handsomest box set in history (Screamin’ and Hollerin’ the Blues: The Worlds of Charley Patton). Scary, deep, beautiful, and safer than air travel.” – Spin

“A trance masterpiece.” – The Wire magazine

“Existing on a pure plane of music as maddeningly original as its is frustratingly obscure.” – Billboard

Track Listing
Disc 1
  1. There Are A-Movements In Our Time Not Long…
  2. Natural Bridge, The
  3. Assignment Subud
  4. Back To The Omind (I’d Rather Not Go) (listen)
  5. (untitled) – (hidden track)
  6. (untitled) – (hidden track)
  7. (untitled) – (hidden track)